Sunday, October 1, 2023

Harmeet Sahney and Shamsher Dhupia win the Delhi edition

Combining tremendously and playing to their strengths, the team of Harmeet Sahney and Shamsher Dhupia won the 10th Golf Foundation Invitational Fund Raiser Tournament played at the Delhi Golf Club, Delhi with a score of Net 57.

The pair of Sumant Shrivastava and Soumya Dutta edged out Sachin Vaish and Vijay Advani for the runners up position over count-back of the last 3 holes, after having identical scores of Net 60.

The Golf Foundation Fund Raiser tournaments are held every year in Mumbai and Delhi (and for the first time in 2022, in Bengaluru as well) to garner support for a cause which is helping produce Golf Champions from India on a consistent basis, especially players from underprivileged and marginalised backgrounds. The Delhi edition was held close after the very successful Bangalore edition which was held on March 25, 2022. Apart from the tournaments, The Golf Foundation also organised ‘The Golf Foundation Nationwide Talent Hunt’ across India in March 2022 with 3 day tournaments being held in Kolkata, Gurgaon and Bengaluru to identify and induct talented young underprivileged golfers into its programme. The contestants travel, stay, food & golf expenses were fully looked after by the Foundation. Also the talented golfers would be inducted in the Foundation’s annual programme.

The Delhi Fund Raiser was inaugurated by customary 4 player Tournament ‘Inaugural Tee Shots’ by CEO of The Golf Foundation Angad Luthra, Chairman of the Tournament Committee Delhi Golf Club Lt. Gen. Balbir Sandhu, India No 2 Amateur and Golf Foundation protégé Yuvraj Singh and The Golf Foundation Board Member Advait Luthra. The two-person team scramble format of the event resulted in some good fun and yet competitive golf with the golfers getting the opportunity to play aggressively.

The tournament was graced by Guests of Honour Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri, and Paralympics Gold and Silver medalist Devendra Jhajharia and Ms. Manya Singh, Miss India 2020 Runner Up.  



SURYAA Straightest Drive Winner: Amit Luthra  

2ND RUNNER UP TEAM – Sachin Vaish & Vijay Advani

RUNNER UP TEAM – Sumant Shrivastava & Soumya Dutta

WINNING TEAM – Harmeet Sahney & Shamsher Dhupia


Leave a Comment